Market Broiler

It’s been raining in SoCal so it’s peeeerfect soup weather!

Instead of opting for the usual Souplantation, I decided that today we’d be a little more adventurous and just… yelp a place with a decent rating and clam chowder.

I’m not sure if Market Broiler is a franchise or not– I tried googling but my browser seems to be blocking it. I think there’s two locations near me? But anyway it’s like part restaurant and part.. fish market? So you can just buy fish at the fish counter and bring it home to cook as well.

I’ve only been here once before and it was back in high school– I can’t even recall what I ordered and whether or not I liked it or not.

I’ll admit I’m not really a fan of non-Asian fish dishes so I’ve never felt the need to re-visit. I think it’s because I’m not really a fan of pancrusted fish? And dishes that have a salmon filet are too cooked for my liking.

Anyway… I went here with my sister for a late lunch. 🙂

( Btw, there’s happy hour from 4pm to.. 6pm I think? There’s a bunch of $6 appetizers though you need to sit at the bar. )

Our waitress gave us half a loaf of sourdough bread and butter. Um. Do you eat sourdough like this…? LOL. It wasn’t bad but I don’t think the two.. pair very well. The sourdough is already so… strong that the butter doesn’t really add anything to it.

I actually liked the calamari~ It’s a bit bland but it’s probably because I didn’t eat it with the dipping sauce. My sister did though and she said it was pretty good..

It was very fresh tasting and very light despite the battering! 🙂 And the portion was pretty generous ( we didn’t finish it even splitting it between us! )

The clam chowder… the reason why we decided on this restaurant…

First of all, the portion is HUGE. I only got through maybe a third of it and took the rest home.

I’m not sure if you can tell by the picture but it’s quite thick? Not like your souplantation chowders that are rather liquidy. It was very creamy but actually quite light. There wasn’t a strong fishy taste so depending on your preference this would be a plus or minus lol.

There wasn’t a ton of clams from what I could tell–just an average amount. There was an occasional huge clam piece though which was nice. The potatoes are itty bitty both to my annoyance and surprise. First of all I don’t.. like potatoes with a few exceptions so I prefer them easily removable from my chowder. Buuut some of it was so fine/small that it didn’t detract from the taste/texture?

Interestingly, there’s also a red clam option which I think uses a tomato base? And a 50/50 white/red option which I assume is a mix of the two. I didn’t know this was a thing…

Overall this place wasn’t bad. I’m tempted to come back another time and actually try a fish dish or one of their specialties. 🙂

Leave a Reply

